Peas If You Please

I’ve been eagerly awaiting Joe’s Gardens English shelling peas.  Last week I stopped by and asked the farmer when his tender and sweet shelling peas would be ready for the picking.  He grumbled “It may be next Saturday… it MAY not…” 

Translation: patience.

This morning (yes, they were ready on Saturday), Joe’s handmade “Shelling Peas” sign beckoned me to get them while I can.  I filled a bag with the green pods as I tried to remember a recipe for a delicious pea soup with ginger and orange.

Recipe (as best I can recall):

  1. 2 cups of fresh shelling peas (from Joe’s Garden of course!)
  2. low fat/low sodium chicken stock
  3. zest and juice of one orange
  4. 2 Tbs. grated ginger
  5. salt to taste

Simmer shelled peas in chicken stock for about 10 minutes – until tender.  I eyeballed about 3 cups of stock.  Pour peas and stock into a blender.  Blend carefully because hot liquid expands.  I covered the lid with a doubled towel.  When blended stir in zested ginger & orange, a squeeze of juice, and salt to taste.  Top with a dollop of crème fraîche or sour cream. YUM!

One response to “Peas If You Please

  1. plentywithinreach

    This tasted bright and delicious! – The Husband

Leave a Reply

